Starting out

Okay here we go. A blog a day? Maybe – we’ll see.

I’ve started this in a ridiculous knee jerk response to a book I am reading where the author started writing a 3 page blog everyday in order to get her creative juices flowing. I would love to get my creative juices flowing and really don’t have a clue how to do it (or the energy to thoroughly research how to do it either) so I thought “Why not?” Can’t hurt, but I doubt that I will keep it up (and as a realist I’ll try to do only one page a day). Knee jerk responses are often like that – so “unthought out” that they lack the momentum necessary to break through the typical apathy that sets in a few days later. So this falls in the category of New Year’s resolution material – and I’d given up on New Years resolutions decades ago!

Fact this, my life isn’t entirely boring. I put a moderate amount of effort into avoiding a boring life – I own my own business, and while I could certainly be more motivated about it, I’m not sitting on my hands – I am trying different ways, albeit at my own leisure, to build it and grow.

I’m also in two bands – one a blues rock band, the other a country rock band (much more rock than country really, or so I keep telling myself). I have persisted with working on my voice, which has been cracking pretty badly, because I want to be a good backing vocalist in the bands. It appears that I could be winning that battle, but it isn’t going away without a fight.

I don’t want to succumb to old age either – I work out regularly in spite of the fact that I appear to be developing nagging pain in my shoulder. The truth is I am more than a bit concerned that my shoulder pain will spell the end of at least some of my fitness regime. Oh well, I will reluctantly accept it if all avenues fail in healing my shoulder. In that event I will modify my workouts, but not give them up.

I sense as I write this that you, the reader, may be picking up that I am perhaps trying harder than necessary to keep my life from being boring, or dull. I suppose I feel that life is a gift, and I am terrified of squandering it. Maybe not the best of motivations, but in the absence of anything more noble or well balanced, I’ll settle for doing something to keep life interesting than doing nothing and just ‘living’.

Which brings me back to this blog. I am good at putting my hand to things. By and large I can copy or duplicate what is needed to do a certain exercise, or fix a specific problem around the house (I’m not that handy, but I can muddle through enough most of the time). Now I know there’s no shame in being able to copy or do something well, but something inside me wants to create.

To create is different from copying or organising what already is. And I believe I have creativity locked in there somewhere. A lot of my bass lines (I play bass in the bands) are quite creative. In that arena I appear to be relatively unfettered. But come to take creative photos (I’m not a bad photographer, but once again I feel like I am copying what I have seen others do), or write a song (I have the technical skills but tend to seize up), or come up with a creative design (I have done posters and other marketing stuff but it’s usually pretty ordinary) and I seem to dry up inside.

So will this blog help me to free up my creative juices? Will putting all this on a page everyday (yeah, we’ll see) somehow undamn the reservoir of creative ideas? Will it start as the tiniest droplet squeezing through the beginnings of a crack in the damn wall, to be followed slowly but inevitably by a trickle, then by a stream, then by a torrent that sweeps the damn wall away forever? Hardly likely (and very melodramatic I know) but, being the pragmatist that I am, any improvement will be seized upon and appreciated (probably overanalysed as well).

Well I think I’ll stop here. See what tomorrow brings.

Author: Terry Lewis

I'm a guy in his 50's who thought it might be fun to write about day to day issues - the stuff that life is made of. It's helped me think and develop some deeper perspectives. I enjoyed it so much I thought I might start posting it in a blog, and here we are! I intend to mix it up as much as I can. I am a thinking kind of guy so the majority of my posts will probably have some kernel of truth or (hopefully) wisdom nestled in there somewhere. But I also hope to have some light hearted posts as well. Too much thinking can make life pretty dull! Anyway, hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

