Musing about musings

When all I really want is to chew stuff over, not start a thesis…

I put a lot of effort into yesterday’s blog. Maybe too much. In rattling on about my topic, I thought I should perhaps research it a bit more before I open my mouth (what a good idea!). Certainly paid dividends and I felt I knew a lot more about the topic before I finished.

However it felt like I was creating some important technical discussion rather than just my musings, and the blog itself reads a bit stiff. So maybe profound discussions are not really what I am looking for in these pages. So what am I looking for after all, and what would still be interesting to you?

I suppose I’m looking to talk about stuff that we would normally talk about in a face to face situation. Not me armed with facts, but instead throwing around ideas. Ideas that could (and perhaps should) be shot down in flames, but ideas are the stuff of thinking outside the box, of getting the juices flowing…. The kind of conversations where we walk away somehow energised by the encounter even if everything was not nailed down with evidence.

And of course there’s just the stuff of life too – where I’m at today, where you’re at today, unimportant things in the big picture but important to us nevertheless in the here and now. There’s a show on the ABC, called “When I get a minute” and it’s Leigh Sales and Annabel Crabb, obviously great mates, catching up for a bite or a quick train trip to somewhere and nattering along the way about the movies they saw, or the books they’ve read, or the people they know, or what they think about this, or that. Pretty engaging stuff, but only in small doses. I watched a couple of episodes back to back and it was just a bit too much for me (probably because I am on the outside looking in) – single episodes I think next time.

But it’s still great to see two people avidly sharing their ideas, and I get the feeling that perhaps not enough us have friendships like that, or if we do it’s too long between drinks that we manage to catch up. I envy them I must admit. I do have one or two friends that I could probably rabbit on with in a similar way, but they’re way out of my typical circle these days, and our paths rarely cross. Of course there’s plenty of people that I chat with, and occasionally there’s juicy morsels that surface and we come away uplifted. But it’s less often than I would like.

And maybe our good friends Annabel and Leigh suffer the same thing. Perhaps they don’t get together anywhere near as often as they would like (though the premise of the show is that they try and squeeze each other in when they can, and generally succeed I guess). They are just so comfortable and have no shortage of ideas and opinions to throw around. They are also happy to disagree and poke fun at each other about the idiosyncrasies of each other’s tastes.

Getting back to my point. I would love this blog to have the same kind of casual, friendly, intense but not intense at all kind of approach to sharing my thoughts with you. Hopefully engrossing in an amiable kind of way, maybe sometimes fierce in the expression of a strongly held thought, but not for too long before we get back to rabbiting on again. A friendly diversion that’s hopefully enriching at least some of the time, but always (or mostly) enjoyable.

I feel that this blog today is like that, and yesterday’s wasn’t. Here’s to me putting in my two cents worth in the future, without furiously arguing my point and losing out on the fun.

Cheers

Author: Terry Lewis

I'm a guy in his 50's who thought it might be fun to write about day to day issues - the stuff that life is made of. It's helped me think and develop some deeper perspectives. I enjoyed it so much I thought I might start posting it in a blog, and here we are! I intend to mix it up as much as I can. I am a thinking kind of guy so the majority of my posts will probably have some kernel of truth or (hopefully) wisdom nestled in there somewhere. But I also hope to have some light hearted posts as well. Too much thinking can make life pretty dull! Anyway, hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

