We’re off to Paris!

Linda and I are heading off at the end of the week for two weeks away – one week in Paris and one week in Lithuania (Vilnius to be precise). Linda’s father was born in Lithuania, so we’re visiting there along with her brother – second time for her, first time for me.

After she told me she wanted to go to Lithuania, I thought, perfect chance to add on a week in Paris! Never been there, but like many of you I guess, have wanted to go for ages. I haven’t been this excited about a trip for, I don’t know how long.

So I’m busily brushing up on my high school French, which is rudimentary but should keep us out of trouble. I know that as long as you try, they appreciate the effort, and if I get it completely wrong, they’ll most likely put me out of my misery and speak to me in English.

Anyway, the point of my post is twofold: firstly, to let you know that I’ll be away for a couple of weeks, and if I don’t get another blog out (I’m hoping to post one more before we leave) then it will probably be 3 weeks before I post again.

Secondly, I know a few of you have been to Paris, some of you more than once (I think!), so I’d love to pick your brains about places to go. Now we’re all different, so let me give you an idea of what we’re looking for.

Let me start by telling you what we’ve planned so far. We plan to check out Versailles, Monet’s gardens, the L’ouvre and the Eiffel tower (probably just viewing it – don’t know whether we’ll bother climbing it or not). Beyond that, nothing else specific yet, though we are poring over the Paris maps and pointing out different museums and locations to each other.

We’re not the kind of tourist who tries to see as much as they can. We’d rather savour a few things than see a lot. I also like to try to ‘feel’ the city I’m in. I really love to immerse myself in a culture as much as possible in the short time that I have. My most memorable trips have been when I knew someone in the country I was visiting, and they took me under their wing. You get to see places, eat at restaurants, that the typical tourist never does. I had an Indian fried who took me to India – fabulous! Our daughter Heather lived in China for a while, and when we visited there a few years ago she took us to all sorts of places that tourists wouldn’t have ventured into.

So whilst in France, I’d love to find the little cafes or restaurants that the locals all know, and we tourists don’t!  Or beautiful locations, or buildings, or little out of the way places that the tourist highway hasn’t trampled underfoot yet. Or even if they have, that it doesn’t yet feel too commercial or hyped.

Anyone know anything about the night life in Paris? Not interested in nightclubs, but any distinctively French pubs, or places with a bit of jazz playing in the background?

If you have any tips, we’re all ears, but regardless, I’m sure we’re going to have fun. So, unless I get another post out before the end of the week, Au revoir for now!

Author: Terry Lewis

I'm a guy in his 50's who thought it might be fun to write about day to day issues - the stuff that life is made of. It's helped me think and develop some deeper perspectives. I enjoyed it so much I thought I might start posting it in a blog, and here we are! I intend to mix it up as much as I can. I am a thinking kind of guy so the majority of my posts will probably have some kernel of truth or (hopefully) wisdom nestled in there somewhere. But I also hope to have some light hearted posts as well. Too much thinking can make life pretty dull! Anyway, hope you like it.

6 thoughts on “We’re off to Paris!”

  1. Terry! WHY OH WHY did these posts of yours not appear in my reader way back in September? Paris is my favorite city and I would have been glad to send a few suggestions. I suspect you got by just fine simply by roaming around, though. 🙂 I’m off to check out your other posts and live vicariously through you!

    1. I knew from your posts that you were an avid fan of Paris, so I was a little surprised when I didn’t hear anything from you , but I figured you had your reasons (you might have been too busy at the time to even read any blogs etc…). That’s okay – I’ll pick your brains next time!

      1. You called it right, Terry: I had a lot going on last fall, between a dear friend who was dying of cancer, and rushing to make some house repairs before the snow flew (in hopes of putting it on the market this spring), and an almost inhumane overabundance of assignments at work — all of them due before the end of the year, of course. In the midst of it I neglected my blog and Facebook friends, I’m afraid! But please promise me that if I go missing as you’re planning your next trip you’ll drop me a note and virtually whap me on the head. 🙂 In the meantime, I’ve added a blogroll to my own blog as a reminder mostly to myself to check in with my favorite blog friends more often. Still … sigh.

Leave a Reply

