Paris day 2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Some interesting patterns created by the arches of the Eiffel Tower

On our second day in Paris we caught the “Batobus”, a tourist boat that drops you off at six or seven famous locations along the Seine. We had bought a day ticket which meant we could get on and off as much as we liked during the day. There are other boats available as well that do the same kind of thing.

We were in no hurry and didn’t intend to cram too much in. We had anticipated we might visit 3 locations during the course of the day, but ended up only visiting two – the Eiffel Tower and the Notre Dame cathedral.

We spent a good 3 hours or so at and around the Eiffel Tower, taking in lunch at a nearby cafe as well. I’d seen pictures of the tower of course (who hasn’t?) and it’s featured in movies etc, but I was surprised, when we got up close, as to how elegant it really was.

For some reason I had expected it to be a typical boilerplate structure, in line with the ironwork of the steam age. I was so pleasantly surprised to see intricate patterns in the metalwork – it truly is a lovely piece of architecture.

All the more amazing given that it was never intended to be a permanent structure. And of course, due to terrorist activity, there was a security gate we had to go through to get “inside” the Eiffel Tower. By inside I mean just standing at the base inside the four columns that curve upward to join as one some 50 metres upward.

We didn’t go up. I’m not a great fan of gazing out over a city from a great height. I mean, the view is of course beautiful, but to me all high-up views of cities look kind of the same (I know that’s not true, but I’m not quite sure how to explain it – to me it’s kind of same old, same old). I remember going up to the top of the Rockefeller tower in New York, and, you know, it was nice, but after being there for a few minutes I was ready to go back down.

The parkland and houses/buildings surrounding the Eiffel Tower are also quite beautiful, so altogether the Tower and its surrounds made a pretty picture. We ate at a local cafe just a few minutes walk from the tower, and I had a baguette with a hot dog and melted cheese. Didn’t look particularly appetising, but it tasted yummy!

Just an aside, I don’t know what it’s like in your country, but in Australia if I have a large bill ($100, let’s say), I can pretty much spend it anywhere. If I walk into a convenience store and buy something for a few bucks, I wouldn’t use $100 bill if I could avoid it, but if I had to, I would apologise (“Sorry this is all I have”), and they would either say it was okay or give me a dirty look. But they always took it and gave me change. Not so in Paris (and just curious how is it in your country as well?)

On our first day, after I had checked into to our apartment, I went down to a local supermarket to pick up some milk and sugar etc. The bill came to a little over 7 euros, and my smallest bill I had on me was 50 euros. After hesitating for a second or two, the girl said “Non” and that was that. Lucky I had my credit card on me and I paid for it that way.

The thing is, we came to Paris with lots of 100 euro bills and some 50 euro bills. I soon discovered that the supermarket experience was mirrored most other places as well. We sweated on that a bit, but found that for bigger expenses (the restaurants or souvenir stores for example) we could pay with $100 Euro bills, and thankfully managed to cash them into smaller bills sufficiently often that way (though you could still see a few hesitate). If we go another time, we will certainly do that differently!

Anyway, after the Eiffel Tower we were getting a bit tired (it was now around 3 in the afternoon) so we only went to one more place – Notre Dame cathedral. I have to say, while it was very impressive, it was not really my kind of beauty, so we walked around it (didn’t go in mainly because we were tired by now and were also running out of time) took a bunch of photos, and headed back to the Batobus for the last leg back to where we had first boarded. The cathedral is interestingly located very close to other buildings, which I hadn’t expected. You normally see a church set apart with gardens or grounds around it, but here on one side the cathedral backed on to a busy street of shops. It made for some interesting photos.

We headed back to our apartment, collapsed for a while as you do, then found a pub down the road which served good food, and had an enjoyable evening meal. The waitress was terrific, even though she had to keep apologising because everything we ordered they had run out of! We eventually found something on the menu that was available and it turned out to be delicious. We hung around, enjoying the atmosphere and letting our food go down, then sauntered back to our apartment. And that’s it for day 2.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Along the Seine

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just near the Eiffel Tower – elegant buildings in tree lined streets

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cafe near the Eiffel Tower

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Near Notre Dame
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Notre Dame

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A side street view of Notre Dame
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Notre Dame on a narrow street – shops are just on the other side
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Shops just opposite Notre Dame
Author: Terry Lewis

I'm a guy in his 50's who thought it might be fun to write about day to day issues - the stuff that life is made of. It's helped me think and develop some deeper perspectives. I enjoyed it so much I thought I might start posting it in a blog, and here we are! I intend to mix it up as much as I can. I am a thinking kind of guy so the majority of my posts will probably have some kernel of truth or (hopefully) wisdom nestled in there somewhere. But I also hope to have some light hearted posts as well. Too much thinking can make life pretty dull! Anyway, hope you like it.

1 thought on “Paris day 2”

  1. Aren’t the Batobuses a wonderful way to explore the city, Terry? Some people dismiss them as “too touristy,” but I think they offer a wonderful perspective from which to see the architecture — and also help you form a mental map. Your impressions about the Eiffel Tower echo mine exactly, the first time I saw it: I had expected the ironwork to be industrial and utilitarian, but was delighted to find the delicate filigree work that connected the structural elements. As for Notre Dame: Great observation about the proximity of the other buildings. But did you know that houses practically abutted the cathedral in every direction until the mid-1800s? It wasn’t until then that Baron Haussmann cleared the square in front of Notre Dame where visitors and the faithful congregate today. As for your not caring much for climbing to the top of monuments, please do consider hiking up to the towers of Notre Dame during your next visit: I promise you’ll be stunned by the view of the Seine and the city growing around it as far as your eye can see. And if you let me know in advance of your next visit, I’ll even create a handy “map” to show you what you’re looking at from up there! Cheers to you Terry, and thank you for this vicarious visit to my favorite city.

Leave a Reply

