Paris day 3 (Versailles actually)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This photoblog today is from our few hours at Versailles, the palace the French monarchy used up until the French Revolution, about a 45 minute train ride from Paris. It’s huge, so give yourself a few hours to see it, and you may want to think about what time you’re going to go, as the lines to see it can be horrendous. There are also all sorts of tours available, but we opted to just go and wander around.

The lines to get in can be so long that you can pay a small fortune compared to the actual entrance price to get “skip the line” tickets (by small fortune I mean they are about 3 or 4 times the price of a typical entry ticket). Lines have been known to be as long as 2 hours, so it’s your call, but their website has a page showing you the most busy times and least busy times. If you follow those guidelines, you will probably be okay, but no guarantees there. We got in just fine – no waiting, no line at all.

Versailles is opulence on steroids, and is H-U-G-E (did I say that already?). We spent 2 hours in the gardens alone, and probably saw less than a 1/5 of it. The palace itself is big, but a lot of it is not open to the public, or at least wasn’t on the day we went. I’m not a big fan of opulence, or at least old world opulence, but it was interesting enough, and those of you who are into fine antique furniture will love it.

My photos probably don’t give you a real idea of Versailles. Anything big is often hard to capture in photos in my opinion, and I do try to take shots you wouldn’t see on a postcard. Perhaps if I had more lenses, and the crowds were smaller…. Anyway, hope you enjoy the shots I did take!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A servant’s stairway (?) that we had to use to get to the 2nd floor
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lots of gold everywhere
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Plenty of ceilings like this

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The main entrance to the palace itself, once you’ve got past the main gate and the massive courtyard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
If you look closely, you’ll see a miniature replica of Versailles under the dome

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
An avenue of trees somewhere in the midst of the gardens
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
That building is the stables

 

Author: Terry Lewis

I'm a guy in his 50's who thought it might be fun to write about day to day issues - the stuff that life is made of. It's helped me think and develop some deeper perspectives. I enjoyed it so much I thought I might start posting it in a blog, and here we are! I intend to mix it up as much as I can. I am a thinking kind of guy so the majority of my posts will probably have some kernel of truth or (hopefully) wisdom nestled in there somewhere. But I also hope to have some light hearted posts as well. Too much thinking can make life pretty dull! Anyway, hope you like it.

4 thoughts on “Paris day 3 (Versailles actually)”

  1. Gorgeous photos, and you definitely have a knack for selecting an interesting angle. I like your approach of taking photos that you wouldn’t see on a postcard, but they also seem to capture the essence of the place. The final shot of the stables, oh my! You are so right about opulence.

Leave a Reply

