Paris on foot

This is the last of my posts on Paris. For our final couple of days we pretty much bummed around the streets, walking firstly within a couple of kilometres of our apartment in and around the Bastille area, and then the next day checked out St Germain on the other side of the Seine. (Autumn, if you’re reading this, we did check out Rue de Bac as you suggested – came across some great boulangeries and chocolatiers!).

Only a couple of hundred metres from our apartment there is a street market held twice a week, and we were able to pop in on one of those days. Vegetables, cheeses, meats, take away food stalls, clothing and so on. What surprised us was the quality of the produce – top quality vegetables and fruit, bursting with colour and, I’m sure, flavour, though we didn’t buy any. Also mountains of different cheeses, all behind glass counter tops though so there wasn’t much chance of getting a decent photo of them.

At one point, we were walking over a bridge across the Seine and the sounds of a piano-accordion wafted to our ears. So French! It was a delightful moment. And one of the final things we did after scoping out St Germain was to sit outdoors at a cafe overlooking the Seine, having coffee and crepes. Bliss.

So here are a few shots of the sights of Paris on foot. During our stay we only saw a small part of Paris, so there’s still plenty for us to see and do next time we go!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just near our apartment. Our street had a wide centre strip with trees and gardens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was the bridge we were walking over when we heard the sound of a piano accordian wending its way to our ears

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Beavis and Butthead of Paris perhaps?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: Terry Lewis

I'm a guy in his 50's who thought it might be fun to write about day to day issues - the stuff that life is made of. It's helped me think and develop some deeper perspectives. I enjoyed it so much I thought I might start posting it in a blog, and here we are! I intend to mix it up as much as I can. I am a thinking kind of guy so the majority of my posts will probably have some kernel of truth or (hopefully) wisdom nestled in there somewhere. But I also hope to have some light hearted posts as well. Too much thinking can make life pretty dull! Anyway, hope you like it.

6 thoughts on “Paris on foot”

  1. Hi Terry, I’m here and catching up with your posts. So glad you found a good boulangerie or three. Fab pictures and description, I can hear that music…🎼

  2. Thanks for sharing. I am living in Paris for the last year and I just started blogging about my experiences because this city inspires me. I will have to go to a couple places you mentioned in your posts!

Leave a comment